Skip to product information
1 of 1

David Solway

David Solway

Essays on his Works

By Carmine Starnino

In recent years David Solway's groundbreaking trio of critical looks - Education Lost, Lying About the Wolf, and Random Walks - have earned him a reputation as a thinker and prose writer of considerable erudition. But it is through his poetry that Solway has established himself as an exemplary and indispensable literary artist. This volume - the very first book devoted to the study of Solway's work - includes contributions by such noted poets and critics as W. J. Keith, Wilf Cude, Eric Ormsby, Richard Sanger, and William Ford. The result is a fuller exploration and celebration of the 'cornucopian triumphs' of a poet Carmine Starnino calls in his introduction "one of the best things to ever happen to English Canadian poetry".


Guernica Editions (Writers Series)


96 pages |

Regular price $8.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $8.00 USD
Sale Sold out


Learn More


View full details

About the author

Carmine Starnino is a Canadian poet, essayist, educator, and editor. He was born in Montreal, Quebec. His first poetry collection The New World (1997) was nominated for the 1997 A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry and the 1997 Gerald Lampert Award. His second collection Credo (2000) won the 2001 Canadian Authors Associate Prize for Poetry and the 2001 David McKeen Award for Poetry. He has also written A Lover's Quarrel (2004), a book of essays on Canadian poetry, and With English Subtitles (2004), a third collection of poems. Starnino's fourth collection, This Way Out (2009), was nominated for a Governor General's Literary Award in Poetry.